Finding an Agent

25 Sep

Phew- two interviews over and they did not bite me and I did not bite my nails which makes the whole thing much more successful than I was anticipating.

Infact, one even wishes to represent me commercially, only problem is the head agent was a little too Hollywood phony for my taste buds. The other agency, while quite reputable and successful smelled a bit like a gerbil cage and they had dell not apple computers which for an agency, is highly suspicious.

The agent for agency #2, as I will call them, was giving me the bold opportunity to audition for him theatrically. The boldness is derived from the fact that I have very few professional acting credentials. So despite the fact that I studied with some pretty snazzy teachers in New York, it will take an agency a lot of work getting me low budget indie movies and no paying webisodes (Internet based series) to bulk up my résumé before I will make any money theatrically (theatrical covers any jobs that aren’t commercials). That’s why the most professional, yet still struggling actors make the majority of their income with commercials, which pay anywhere between 10-100 thousand dollars).

So, agency number 2 sent me sides (a piece of script to audition with), the night before, which I prepared despite the fact that my good friend from high school Tyler, arrived that night to visit for the weekend. After a few hours of work, I went to the audition the next day mildly confident. The part was for the lead in a pilot show for MTV that was currently casting, no small peanuts. I managed to act casual as I gravitated between leaning forward and backward on an awkwardly shaped couch while I conversed with the agent. He had a blue tooth on his ear and occasionally he spoke for such long periods that I had time to wonder if this was espresso or drug induced.
We emerged through all the chit chat and he called his assistant in to watch me perform. I wiped my sweaty palms on my pretty pink frock and fake smiled (no acting class seems to be able to remedy this) and exploded into dialogue. I got the very first sentence wrong which immediately pastes a look on my face that says “Eeeeeeeek” but I keep trudging through. I was expressive and pretty open and managed to do my jig without having anyone yawn (in this business you have to take points where you can).

The agent then went into anther mini dialogue of his own (it seems they need attention as much as actors) and managed to critique me until I felt like a picked scab. Sure, he said some nice things, like comedy was my thing and I showed a wide range and was very expressive, BUT mostly I heard him say that my comedic timing was off, I wasn’t ready to audition for leads, he would “think about representing me theatrically” and that I would have to study improv at either Groundlings or UCB if I could get in if they were to take me. What?? No confetti? No golden star that says I was fantastic?? Not even an A for effort?? I mean sure it wasn’t the worse news but Dam, it really is hard to show all of your guts, all of your insides to some stranger, and feel like they are totally underwhelmed.

He then sent me over to the commercial division where I had a nice long chit chat with the agent (frankly though I think I could be with a stronger commercial agent) and left. This whole process took nearly two hours, which I consoled myself meant I wasn’t a total waste of time to them. However the fact that this process took 2 hours meant I had a 63$ parking ticket on my windshield. After a short wallow in misery sitting in my car in my the parking lot, wondering what I was doing with my life, I had to smile because that’s the ride isn’t it? I mean if parking tickets and rejection isn’t part of the Hollywood experience- then I don’t know what is.

2 Responses to “Finding an Agent”

  1. loret September 25, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    so intuitive and expressive and wonderful

  2. Ngaere Macray September 26, 2012 at 1:42 am #

    Its a great short story! XXXN

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

