Demo of my Demo

22 Oct

I met with “the new potential manager” for lunch and she was awesome. She is highly motivated and smart and relatable and looking to grow which is like the best possible combination for a manager to have. I drank a lot of iced tea during lunch and may or may not have chattered like a hyper active monkey throughout the entire meal at this chic Palisades organic cafe but whatever the case, it seemed to work. The attraction was mutual! We’ve been texted and emailing for over a week, now the only tricky part was getting the rest of her team to give me the go. I think I mentioned this in my previous post but they are three women managing the careers of 39 actors and some of the actors are pretty big deals. So if they took me in, it would be awesome. They are the real deal, this would be a company that I wouldn’t be trying to upgrade. They’re already up there.

Though I’ve gotten a lot better at it management is certainly not one of my strong points: you have to make appointments and phone calls, and sell yourself to people and read contracts and make decisions like whether partial nudity in this random independent film is going to bring you to the Cannes Film Festival or is going to haunt you for the rest of your career. A good manager can be the difference between a short, mangeled, undirected career and well, whatever the opposite of that is.

Now in order to sell me to her team, I needed a Theatrical Demo. I had none. This requires sorting through a fair amount of manure, as in past projects. Bad sound quality, bad image quality, bad cut, small unimportant parts, none of those can really get into the demo. Surprisingly enough this left us with mostly stuff that we had shot ourselves.
Here is the demo that I have put together and Guillaume has graciously edited and color corrected and sound stabilized and whatever else he does.
I just sent the manager the final cut this morning and she’ll let me know if she thinks I’m ready to be pitched to her team.
Keep in mind it’s clearly not a high budget projection, but the idea is to showcase to a manager that I have potential, that I feel comfortable infront of a camera and that I can act. And hopefully, not the opposite.

2 Responses to “Demo of my Demo”

  1. iLoveShelling October 24, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    …And the Oscar goes to Kelsie Macray! …. And for Film Editing…. the Academy Award goes to Guillaume!
    Really, everything is impressive about the demo- each of your emotions are completely spot on and the editing- Bravo! but I can’t rattle too long about it because Cheetos keep calling my name so I’ve got to go. 😉

    • kelsiecalifornia October 24, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

      Aww Pam your so sweet! I told mom you guys need to do a girls trip out here!

Leave a Reply

